Ducks, Geese & Swans (Anatidae)


The Anatidae are the biological family of birds that includes ducks, geese and swans. These are birds that are adapted through evolution for swimming, floating on the water surface, and in some cases diving in at least shallow water. The family contains around 146 species in 40 genera. They are generally herbivorous, and are monogamous breeders. A number of species undertake annual migrations. A few species have been domesticated for agriculture, and many others are hunted for food and recreation.

There are 10 Sub families.

Mallard (Anas platyrhynchos) Photo Peter Drury

Dabbling Duck (Anas)

Mute Swan (Cygnus Alor) Photo Peter Drury

Swan (Cygnus)

Greylag Goose (Anser anser) Photo Peter Drury

Geese (Anserini)

Common shelduck (Tadorna tadorna) Photo Peter Drury

Shelduck (Tadorna)

Tufted Duck (Aythya fuligula) Photo Peter Drury

Diving Duck (Aythyinae)